Fighting back against the ugly owls… part 1

One day I will tell you the story of our ugly owl collection. It’s a little bit weird, but it will give you a slightly different view on my family (like all the best stories should). You’ll like it. But for now, I will just tell you that my husband has a mother-in-law enforced collection of very, very ugly looking model owls. Basically, nearly every time my Mum comes round, she leaves – hidden somewhere in the house – an owl for Tom to find. They all have their little quirks, but I can’t really say that any of them are particularly attractive.

This recently became a little too much for my husband and he decided that he was going to spray paint the collection a series of bright colours to see whether he could enjoy their presence a little more. He knows that he’s not going to stop my Mum from leaving them behind, so he might as well try and embrace them, possibly hoping that she will then get bored of her little game and stop bringing them round. If only he knew her better…

I decided to document this interesting attempt at creating a new modern art installation in the house, just in case the result was any good. I’m not holding out much hope, but it might be fun to watch anyway.

The ornaments are made of different materials – ceramic,plastic and even one made out of petrified wood (that one was particularly lovely) so we expect that they will take to the process slightly differently.

So, step 1

Priming the owls, using a spray-on multi-surface primer:

My tips for successful priming:

  • Put down loads of newspaper.
  • Don’t use spray paint on a windy day.
  • Use several thin coats.

Bet you can’t wait for part 2!

Leave a Reply

