Why am I doing this?

Starting a blog, I mean. I’ve been thinking about starting my own blog for a while now, but kept putting it off because I told myself that there was enough of me – and other people saying the things that I thought about – on the Internet.

So what changed my mind? Well, firstly I thought about how great it feels when one of my posts appears on Any Other Woman and I receive really positive comments. Then, quite a few friends told me how much they enjoyed reading my posts and thought I was pretty good at this writing lark. That was nice to hear.

But I think the main motivator was the fact that blog writing has been one of the only creative things I’ve done over the last year, since I got married. Tom and I made a lot of the decorations for our wedding and I really enjoyed doing that, but I can’t say that it came very naturally. I’m not an arty person, but I do love words. I’ve always known that but I have never really thought that I was good enough to actually put my writing out there for people to see and read and judge.

The last few months have been a bit low for me and my husband. Nothing seriously bad has happened, we’ve just had a series of bad luck. Throughout it all we’ve told each other that we have to keep strong, look for the positive and remember that we’ve got each other. I also decided that I wanted to fight back against all the things that were happening to me and do something proactive. And the blog was born.

So that is why I’m doing this. And hopefully I can make the title of my blog come true.

What do you think, readers?

5 thoughts on “Why am I doing this?

  1. First, there is never enough Esme on the Internet. Second, I am so excited you started this blog (ok, that’s sort of related to the first point). Third, keep on posting and don’t lose momentum! I am going to subscribe. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you and Tom have had bad luck recently (HH and I sympathise) but I firmly FIRMLY believe that good things happen to good people, and that your karma will find you in the end. keep blogging and we’ll keep reading.

Leave a Reply

