Guest post: How I love to make things

Good morning lovely readers. Today I have a treat for you! I’ve written a little bit about some of the things in my house that have a slight DIY feel, because I love my home to be personal. I always feel a sense of accomplishment when it comes to adding something a little bit different or personalising something, but this woman always makes me feel completely inadequate. But in a good way! Please welcome my best friend Lucie – in her very first blog post EVER (isn’t she a natural?) – to talk about how she loves to make things.

So, I’ve never written a post for a blog before, but my lovely friend Esme said I could do some blogging with her, so here I go…!

I thought I’d write about something that I feel very comfortable talking about – making stuff!

As anyone who knows me will know, I’m pretty house-proud (my poor fiancé has put up with my fussing for several years now and manfully takes it on the chin), and a large element of my house-proudness (not sure that’s a word!) involves having lovely things around me. Quite a lot of the things in our flat are home made or customised – it’s a passion I’ve had for as long as I can remember. I would say it comes in many forms – ranging from full-on D.I.Y, to crafts, sewing, painting and decorating. I have no doubt that my love of creating things comes from my fabulous parents who are both incredibly arty and talented, and I grew up in a home that was always (and still is!) full of beautiful things. I also get some of my impulsiveness from my Mum – I distinctly remember one day coming home from school to find that she’d chopped the banisters down because she didn’t like them! I haven’t done anything that drastic (I don’t think our landlord would be too impressed!) but I do get the urge to do things every now and again…


One of my very first D.I.Y/ decorating projects was when I was about thirteen. I took my bed apart and painstakingly sanded the varnish off it so that I could lime-wax it all over. It took days, and I don’t think I’ve ever known my arms to ache so much (apart from last year when we bought some chairs which were painted black, and sanded them down to paint them off-white…!) but the sense of satisfaction was amazing, and I was so proud of my hard work, and the fact that I’d done it all on my own. We still have that bed in our spare room, and although it really is falling apart (I’ve had it since I was five!) I’ll be sad to see it go!

I think that’s one of the best things about creating things yourself – there is so much satisfaction to be had from it.


Don’t get me wrong – I’m no great artist, and I’ve had a few projects that have gone a bit wrong – but I would highly recommend to anyone who is tempted to give this kind of thing a go – just do it! You will without a doubt create something totally unique, and it will always have a story behind it.

The only down side to this hobby is that you do tend to become quite a hoarder. I have piles of fabric scraps that will definitely be useful one day, and I find myself utterly unable to throw away pretty postcards, thinking that one day I will absolutely make that montage/decoupage box/ insert project here…


I’d love to hear from anyone who is as hooked on D.I.Y as I am, there must be so much I haven’t discovered yet!

2 thoughts on “Guest post: How I love to make things

  1. Pingback: Welcome to my world; won’t you come on in…? | luciecmontgomery

  2. Pingback: Design ideas – decorating with numbers | luciecmontgomery

Leave a Reply

