Limbo

This is my last week in my current job. I’ve got Friday off and then I start my new, big, scary, important job on Monday. But right now I’m clearing out my desk and writing work instructions and seeing colleagues for the last time. It doesn’t feel like I’m leaving and I can’t quite focus on the new job yet. What should I wear on the first day? How should I work my commute? Should I take my lunch, like I usually do, or just hope they let me have a few minutes to run into town for a sandwich? Will everyone be nice? It’s weird.

We’re also in a kind of limbo with the house. We’ve told the solicitors when we want to get the keys and they said that should be fine, but then we haven’t heard anything in about three weeks. We don’t think anything’s gone wrong, it’s just that we’d like a moving date, please. Looks like Tom will have to do the majority of the actual moving as I can’t take the time off. Oh well! It’s exciting, but, again, we can’t quite get our heads round it yet.

So, we’re waiting. Waiting for these two really big things to happen so we can see what they’re like. And trying not to live in the future too much.

And the present? Looking forward to dinner with some possible new friends on Thursday (I hope they like me!), seeing my family on Friday/Saturday, dinner with old friends which is sure to be filled with discussions on education and politics and thought provoking things like that, a night out on Saturday (I won a competition! Review to come…) and Sunday will be spent packing and getting nervous.

But the main thing I’m looking forward to is my day off on Friday. Tom will be at work and I can’t think of the last time that I had a day just.for.me. But, what to do? I’m thinking of a morning swim, followed by some shopping and a nice lunch. Maybe a manicure? Thoughts welcome.

One thought on “Limbo

Leave a Reply

