First day!

As you read this I will be on my way to my first day at my new job. Writing this on Sunday evening, I’m feeling a mixture of nerves and excitement. Tom has fixed my bike so that I can get from the train station to the office in time, I’ve chosen my outfit (going for my favourite work dress and new shoes) and I’ve decided that I’ll take lunch money rather than sandwiches and see what everyone else normally does. I’ll report back soon.

In other news, wasn’t it a lovely weekend? I made the most of my day off and did some at-home Pilates in the morning and then went to meet my sister and Mum and her husband for some shopping. The sun was shining and I managed to find some pretty good new work shoes. Sure, they’re not the sexiest you’ve ever seen, but they’re going to be comfy (I got them in black):

From Ecco

On Friday evening we celebrated one of our friends submitting his PhD thesis with a curry and some excellent political chat (what happens when you go out with an ex-SU president and a political journalist). Saturday saw us bombing through our to-do list and enjoying a picnic and an ice-cream at the local food festival, followed by fish and chips in front of Dr. Who. We had hoped to claim my prize that included a night in a hotel and a meal, but it didn’t work out. We’ll do it soon, though. And then today I tried to teach Tom how to do front crawl in our local swimming pool (he definitely improved!), had probably the last lunch sitting in the garden (not just the last one this year, but probably the last ever in this garden. Sob…) and I’m just about to park myself on the sofa to watch the Paralympic Closing Ceremony. A very good bridge between finishing my old job and starting the new one, I hope you agree.

Leave a Reply

