Pregnancy

So, you may have seen my news. I’ve been really quite nervous about posting it, not because I thought people would say nasty things, or wouldn’t be happy for us, but I suppose because it’s kind of been our secret for such a long time now that sharing it with the world (OK, who am I kidding? A few readers who are mainly related to me or went to university with me) seems like a BIG DEAL.

Firstly, some facts:

Weeks pregnant: 15

Baby’s due date: 3rd May 2012

Are we finding out whether it’s a boy or girl? Yes, we will be. As long as junior plays along, we’ll be finding out at the 20 week scan.

Is there definitely only 1 in there? Yep, we even have proof:

How did the 12 week scan go? Both Mum (that’s me!) and baby are perfectly healthy, no problems at all. A huge relief, of course.

Do you have a bump yet? Just a little one…

And now I want to be completely honest with you. Although pregnancy has treated me fairly well so far, I cannot promise that I am willing to share every detail with you all. This is my first experience with pregnancy, and every week is something new for me and Tom. I really have no idea how it’s going to play out and how much I’ll want to say. So I’m not making any promises about updates, number of posts or anything like that. However, in the same way that I have been pretty darn open about my life and marriage both here and on Any Other Woman, I hope that I will be able to tell it like it is to a certain extent. I know that a lot of the wonderful women I chat with on Twitter and AOW are pregnant/thinking about trying/hoping to have children/somewhere along that line and that I have found blogs such as Better in Real Life and The Little Pip really helpful, so I’d like my experiences to be helpful in some way. Even if it’s only to make my readers think a little bit. But, one of the main reasons I blog is because I enjoy writing about experiences I have had and am having, so it’s inevitable that I will write something. I also cannot promise to write a huge amount about things other than pregnancy, becoming a parent and all that jazz as it pretty much my whole life right now. Sorry about that.

Overall, we’re a happy little family at the moment, feeling very blessed that we have a healthy baby on the way. A little terrified, but that’s normal, right? RIGHT??!!

I’d like to write a bit about how I found my first trimester next, so watch this space.

4 thoughts on “Pregnancy

  1. Congratulations!

    I love reading about first time pregnancies because it is all such a mystery about what is going on and it’s nice to know that what you are feeling is normal. I am the first of my close friends to have a baby and I’m finding it really difficult to not talk about it the whole time, not because I’m over the top excited but because it really is such a big change in my life and so takes up a lot of my thinking.

    I’m terrified, totally terrified, haven’t stopped feeling that way since I found out (26 weeks now) even the thought of picking a name scares me – such a responsibility!

    • Thanks for commenting Kate! I’m the same – none of our closest friends have children, but I’m so conscious that it’s so very much not on their radar yet that me talking about it must be so boring. I’ve found a few lovely ladies through Any Other Woman who have kept me sane, it’s so important.

      xxx

Leave a Reply

