Happy New Year!

I would say that 13 days into 2014 still makes this year pretty new, right? Obviously, I totally meant to write this over a week ago, but there you go.

Christmas really was lovely. We spent Christmas week at my mum’s in mid-Wales and with Freddie being an absolute star (napping for several hours most mornings and happily playing with my siblings or his Nana) we were really able to relax. A quick stop-over at home and then we were off to see the in-laws and my Dad in Northamptonshire for another few days of good ol’ family time.

xmas 2014 054

On Christmas Eve, we snuggled-up on the sofa with my youngest sister reading our family Christmas story (read about that tradition on Tulips and Tea). Freddie was very confused about having everyone share his bedtime story and took a while to settle down to sleep, but it was worth it.

xmas 2014 040

A definite highlight for Tom was seeing how much Freddie liked his first set of Duplo…

xmas 2014 066(Check out those Christmas jumpers as well!)

Slightly less festive highlights were our first trip to the cinema since Freddie was born (just the two of us, I might add), and Tom completing his biggest DIY task to date: installing a socket and shifting a toilet so that we could move the washing machine into the downstairs loo, all so that he could then plumb in our new dishwasher! Well done Tom.

As for New Years Resolutions, I’ve decided to keep mine very simple: I’m really happy at the moment and I think family life is going pretty well, but there are two things I’d like more of – time just me and Tom and time to myself. So, I’ve resolved to have one ‘date’ with Tom and at least one morning/afternoon to myself a month. Over the past few weeks I have actually very slowly begun to make a big change to my life: I’ve decided to go self-employed rather than return to work. I’m not thinking of that as a ‘resolution’ so much as a new way of looking at work, but making the announcement at the beginning of the year seemed to make sense. So far I’ve had some great feedback and feeling really excited about it, so it looks like it was a good decision to make. Watch this space…

One of the biggest ‘pushes’ I had to start working as a freelance editor and writer was being asked by Rebecca of Florence Finds to write a monthly column on the blog. I’ve loved the first few posts I’ve done over there and it is a huge privilege to be asked to regularly write somewhere that has such a large readership, never mind a beautifully designed, written and inspiring blog. My next post about a big day in the Esme Wins household goes live tomorrow, so make sure you check it out :o)

So that’s what’s new: Christmas, good; more time for me and the hubby needed; new dishwasher is changing my life; starting out in a new adventure working from home and for myself – eek!

One more thing: please check out my mum’s Facebook page for her little business, Daisy Mills Studio, selling hand-made cushions and other house bits? She’s really very good.

Leave a Reply

